Enrico Bombieri Awarded 2020 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics

Enrico Bombieri, Professor Emeritus in the School of Mathematics, has been awarded the 2020 Crafoord Prize in mathematics. Bombieri is cited for outstanding and influential contributions in all major areas of mathematics, particularly number theory, analysis, and algebraic geometry.

The Crafoord Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund, Sweden. The first prize was awarded in 1982, and is intended to promote international basic research in the disciplines of mathematics and astronomy, geosciences, biosciences, and polyarthritis.

The King of Sweden presents the Crafoord Prize on Crafoord Day in the spring of each year with the ceremony to take place in either Stockholm or Lund. The prize-winner, selected according to the same principles that apply when selecting Nobel Prize winners, also holds an open lecture known as the Crafoord Lecture. This year’s laureates in mathematics and astronomy each receive six million Swedish kronor.

More than half of the 26 Crafoord Prizes in mathematics and astronomy awarded to date have gone to IAS scholars, including Louis Nirenberg (1982), Pierre Deligne (1988), Simon K. Donaldson (1994), Shing-Tung Yau (1994), Alain Connes (2001), James Gunn (2005), P. James E. Peebles (2005), Martin Rees (2005), Maxim Kontsevich (2008), Rashid Sunyaev (2008), Edward Witten (2008), Jean Bourgain (2012), Terence Tao (2012), Yakov Eliashberg (2016), and Roger Blandford (2016).

Bombieri first joined the Institute for Advanced Study as a Member in 1974 and was appointed to the permanent Faculty in 1977. He is the recipient of numerous honors including the Fields Medal (1974) for his work on the large sieve and its application to the distribution of prime numbers. Bombieri was born in Milan, Italy, studied classics in Tuscany, and received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the Università degli Studi di Milano in 1963. He is also a trained artist.

Read more at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.


Press Contact

Lee Sandberg