The Institute for Advanced Study is one of the world’s leading centers for theoretical research and intellectual inquiry. The Institute exists to encourage and support fundamental research in the sciences and humanities—the original, often speculative thinking that produces advances in knowledge that change the way we understand the world. It provides for the mentoring of scholars by Faculty, and it offers all who work there the freedom to undertake research that will make significant contributions in any of the broad range of fields in the sciences and humanities studied at the Institute.

Work at the Institute takes place in four Schools: Historical Studies, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Science. Currently, a permanent Faculty of no more than twenty-eight eminent academics guides the work of the Schools and each year awards fellowships to some 190 visiting Members from about one hundred universities and research institutions throughout the world. Robbert Dijkgraaf is the current Director of the Institute.

Please click the links below to go directly to any of the Institute’s four Schools.

School of Historical Studies
School of Mathematics
School of Natural Sciences
School of Social Science

For information about special programs, please visit