Patrick Geary and Narayana Murthy Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Patrick J. Geary, Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the School of Historical Studies, and Narayana Murthy, IAS Trustee, have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Also among the newly elected members are five former IAS Members, together representing all four Schools at the Institute.

The Academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, and others who believed the new American republic should honor exceptionally accomplished individuals and engage them in advancing the public good. Its mission remains essentially the same to this day, with honorees from increasingly diverse fields recognized for their work in the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.

Find the full list of newly elected members at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Press Contact

(609) 951-4543