Past IAS Scholars Win 2023 Sloan Research Fellowships

Eight scholars in the Schools of Mathematics and Natural Sciences are among the recipients of the 2023 Sloan Research Fellowships, a landmark honor for early-career scholars. 

Winners in mathematics include current Visitor Will Sawin, past Visitors Jonathan Julian Zhu (2018–19) and Bhargav Narayanan (2020–21), and past Member Yunqing Tang (2016–17). In physics, past Members Clay Cordova (2015–19) and Tejaswi Venumadhav Nerella (2015–20) were awarded the fellowship. Past Member Eshan Chattopadhyay (2016–18) and past Visitor Sushant Sachdeva (2019), both from the School of Mathematics, won in the computer science category.

The two-year fellowship is awarded to researchers “in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field,” granting them a $75,000 reward to advance their research.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation provides grants across science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics, with the belief that scholars in these fields play a foundational role in our health and prosperity.