Past Members Named 2022 MacArthur Fellows

Monica Kim (Member, 2015–16) and Reuben Jonathan Miller (Member, 2016–17) in the School of Social Science, as well as June Huh (Veblen Fellow, 2014–17; Visiting Professor, 2017–20) in the School of Mathematics, have joined the 2022 class of MacArthur Fellows. The world-renowned fellowship celebrates the artistic and scientific accomplishments of individuals across a variety of fields, enabling their future pursuits. 

Marlies Carruth, director of the program, said about the 2022 MacArthur Fellows, “They are excavators uncovering what has been overlooked, undervalued, or poorly understood. They are archivists reminding us of what should survive.”

The recipients from the Institute, together, represent this broad and important mission: from Miller’s book Halfway Home: Race, Punishment, and the Afterlife of Mass Incarceration, examining the troubling aftermath of imprisonment, for which he is cited by the Selection Committee; to Huh’s unique mathematical proofs using combinatorics and algebraic geometry, recently winning him a Fields Medal; and Kim’s study of military intervention, decolonization, and U.S. foreign policy—found, for example, in her book The Interrogation Rooms of the Korean War: The Untold Histories.  

The MacArthur Fellowship is a “no strings attached” stipend awarded to individuals as an investment in their originality and potential. Each fellowship lasts five years, with quarterly installments equaling $800,000, allowing for the self-directed creative work of the Fellows. The Foundation considers its mission to empower people with the potential to benefit human society. They are selected by a committee composed of leaders in the arts, sciences, and the humanities. 

A video series dedicated to the 2022 MacArthur Fellows was produced by the Foundation, and includes videos on Kim, Miller, and Huh