Eight Past Members Win 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships

Eight past Members in the School of Mathematics and the School of Natural Sciences are among the recipients of the 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships, a landmark honor for early-career scholars. 

Winners in mathematics include past Members Daniel Halpern-Leistner (2014–15), Ilya Kachkovskiy (2016–17), Jonathan Niles-Weed (2019–20), Lisa Sauermann (2020–21), and Ruixiang Zhang (2017–18, 2020–21). In physics, past Members James Colin Hill (2017–19) and David Radice (2016–19) were awarded the fellowship. Past Member Avishay Tal (2015–17) won in the computer science category.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation awards the two-year fellowship to researchers “in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field,” granting them a $75,000 reward to advance their research.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation provides grants across science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and economics, with the belief that scholars in these fields play a foundational role in our health and prosperity.

Read more at Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.