Seven IAS Scholars Win 2022 Guggenheim Fellowships

Seven scholars across all four Schools—Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Historical Studies, and Social Science—have won 2022 Guggenheim Fellowships, one of the most remarkable honors for mid-career researchers, artists, and writers. 

Winners from the Schools of Mathematics and Natural Sciences are past Member (2001–02) and current IAS Trustee Manjul Bharğava, who is known for his profound influence on the field of number theory; and past von Neumann Fellow (2017) Lauren Williams, whose research intersects with both Schools, focusing on the interface of algebra, combinatorics, and physics. 

From the School of Social Science, winners are current Member Keisha N. Blain, who is presently writing a book on Black women and the struggle for human rights from 1865 to the present; and past Member (2006–07) Rosalind C. Morris, who studies the history of industrial and resource-based capitalism in the Global South. 

The winners from the School of Historical Studies are past Visitor (2013, 2019) and Member (2011–12) Juliette Kennedy, whose research focus includes the foundations and philosophy of Mathematics; past Member (2018–19) Katja Guenther, for her work on the history of modern medicine and mind sciences; and past Visitor (2002–03) Katherine French, who studies gender and sexuality in Medieval Europe. 

They join a diverse class of 180 Fellows whose achievements span numerous fields in the humanities, sciences, and visual and literary arts. The Fellowship is granted by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, founded in 1925, which offers funding to exceptional individuals in any field of knowledge or artform.