Camillo De Lellis Awarded 2022 Maryam Mirzakhani Prize

Camillo De Lellis, IBM von Neumann Professor in the School of Mathematics, has received the 2022 Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics from the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).

De Lellis, a geometric analyst with broad expertise in the calculus of variations, geometric measure theory, and fluid dynamics, was cited for “his fundamental contributions to the study of dissipative solutions to the incompressible Euler equations and to the regularity theory of minimal surfaces.”

This year’s award winners, across the physical, biological, social, and medical sciences, will be honored in a ceremony during the National Academy of Sciences’ 159th annual meeting.

The Mirzakhani Prize (formerly the NAS Award in Mathematics) was established in 1988 by the American Mathematical Society in honor of its centennial. The prize was renamed to honor the late Maryam Mirzakhani (1977–2017), a professor at Stanford University, former Member (2015) in the School of Mathematics, and the first (and only) woman to win the Fields Medal. Made possible through generous gifts from the Simons Foundation and other benefactors, this $20,000 prize is awarded biennially for exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician.

Previous recipients include IAS Members and Faculty: Larry Guth (2020); Ingrid Daubechies (2000); Andrew J. Wiles (1996); Robert MacPherson (1992); and Robert P. Langlands (1988).

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and—with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine—provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Read more at NAS.


Press Contact

Lee Sandberg