2020 Shaw Prizes in Astronomy and Mathematical Sciences Awarded to Former IAS Scholars

The 2020 Shaw Prize in Astronomy has been awarded to Roger Blandford, Member (1974–75, 1998) in the School of Natural Sciences. Blandford is recognized “for his foundational contributions to theoretical astrophysics, especially concerning the fundamental understanding of active galactic nuclei, the formation and collimation of relativistic jets, the energy extraction mechanism from black holes, and the acceleration of particles in shocks and their relevant radiation mechanisms.”

The 2020 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences has been awarded jointly to Alexander Beilinson, Member (1994, 1996–97) and Visitor (1997–98) in the School of Mathematics, and David Kazhdan, Distinguished Visiting Professor (Math–NS, 1996–97) and Visitor (1976, 1986, Math–NS 1988) in the School. Beilinson and Kazhdan are cited “for their huge influence on and profound contributions to representation theory, as well as many other areas of mathematics.”

Established in 2002, the Shaw Prize is managed and administered by the Shaw Prize Foundation. The prize honors individuals who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications and whose works have resulted in a positive and profound impacts on mankind.

Read more at the Shaw Prize Foundation.


Press Contact