IAS Scholars Across Schools Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Helmut Hofer, Hermann Weyl Professor in the School of Mathematics, Alondra Nelson, Harold F. Linder Professor in the School of Social Science, and James Stone, Professor in the School of Natural Sciences, have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS).

Also among the newly elected AAAS members are IAS Trustee Jeanette Lerman-Neubauer and many former scholars representing the Institute's four Schools, including Paul M. Churchland, Michael Kazin, Rachel Kranton, Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, Alexander Razborov, Eva Silverstein, Valerie Ann Smith, Winnifred F. Sullivan, Tatiana Toro, Eve M. Troutt Powell, Louise Young, and Muhammad Qasim Zaman.

The Academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, and others who believed the new American republic should honor exceptionally accomplished individuals and engage them in advancing the public good. Its mission remains essentially the same to this day, with honorees from increasingly diverse fields recognized for their work in the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.

Find the full list of newly elected members at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Press Contact