IAS Scholars Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has announced its members for 2020 in recognition of outstanding contributions to science research. This includes Jacob Lurie, Professor in the School of Mathematics; Lai-Sang Young, current Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Schools of Mathematics and Natural Sciences; and former IAS scholars Jürg M. Fröhlich (1984–85, 2012–14, 2016), Dennis Gaitsgory (1996–99), Mark Granovetter (1981–82), Robert Griess (1979–81, 1994), Terence Hwa (1993–94), John Kormendy (1985–86), Judy Lieberman (1974–76), Gregory Moore (1986–89, 1999, 2002, 2006, 2012, 2016), Eliot Quataert (1999–2001, 2005), and Wilfried Schmid (1969–70, 1975–76).

The NAS is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology and is committed to furthering science in America. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research.

Read more National Academy of Sciences.


Press Contact

Lee Sandberg