Former Member Receives 2016 Ramanujan Prize

Chenyang Xu, Member (2014, 2008) in the School of Mathematics, has been awarded the 2016 Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians from Developing Countries in recognition of his outstanding works in algebraic geometry, notably in the area of birational geometry, including works both on log canonical pairs and on Q-Fano varieties, and on the topology of singularities and their dual complexes.

The Prize is awarded jointly by the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics, the Department of Science and Technology (DST, Government of India), and the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The selection committee consisted of Idris Assani, Rajendra Bhatia, Stefano Luzzatto (chair), Maryam Mirzakhani, Member (2015) in the School of Mathematics, and Ngaiming Mok.


Press Contact

Communications Department
(609) 951-4543