American Mathematical Society Honors Former IAS Scholars

The 2024 Joint Mathematics Meetings, held this January in San Francisco, saw six former IAS scholars from the School of Mathematics presented with awards by the American Mathematical Society

The Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory was awarded to Member (2003–04, 2007) Victor Ostrik "for his fundamental contributions to the theory of tensor categories, which have already found deep applications in modular representation theory and Lie theory."

Svitlana Mayboroda, von Neumann Fellow (2018, 2021), was awarded the inaugural Elias M. Stein Prize for New Perspectives alongside her collaborator Marcel Filoche. The pair were praised for their "original, powerful, elegant and impactful theory of the localization landscape."

The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra was presented to Member (2017–18, 2020–21) Jessica Fintzen. Through her work, Fintzen was described as "leading the field toward a much deeper and sharper understanding of p-adic group representations.”

Greta Panova, von Neumann Fellow (2017–18) and incoming Member (2024), was the recipient of an AMS Joan and Joseph Birman Fellowship for Women Scholars. The fellowship seeks to address the paucity of women at the highest levels of research in mathematics by giving exceptionally talented women extra research support during their mid-career years.

Member (2002) József Balogh was one of five scholars presented with the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research. Balogh's 2015 paper on independent sets in hypergraphs, written alongside his collaborators Robert Morris and Wojciech Samotij, was lauded by the committee as having an "immediate and dramatic impact on the study of enumerative and extremal problems in random settings." The Leroy P. Steele Prize was also presented jointly to David Saxton and Andrew Thomason for their work on a related subject.

Finally, the Levi L. Conant Prize was given to Member (2015–16) Jennifer Hom for her article on the Conway knot, which was described in the award citation as "a wonderful resource for the community on timely and important material." 

Read more at the American Mathematical Society.