Albert O. Hirschman Prize Ceremony and Program

At a ceremony and discussion hosted by the Institute on April 19, the Social Science Research Council presented the 2016 Albert O. Hirschman Prize, the organization's highest honor, to Amartya Sen, Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and professor of economics and philosophy at Harvard University and former Institute Trustee. The prize recognizes excellence in research, theory, and public communication, in the tradition of German-born American economist Albert Hirschman’s pioneering role in social science and public policy.

The program featured an engaging dialogue between Professor Sen and Ira Katznelson, president of the SSRC, reflecting on Sen’s impact in the fields of economics and human development.