Angelos Chaniotis

School of Historical Studies

Ancient History and Classics


Historical Studies

Angelos Chaniotis is engaged in wide-ranging research in the social, cultural, religious, legal, and economic history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman East. The author of many books and articles and senior editor of the Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum, he has worked on war, religion, communicative aspects of rituals, and strategies of persuasion in the ancient world. His current research focuses on emotions, memory, identity, the history of the night, and the history of Aphrodisias (Asia Minor). He is the co-director of the archaeological excavation of Lyktos on Crete.

Dates at IAS

School of Historical Studies


Universität Heidelberg
Universität Heidelberg
University of Athens


Appointments: Council of Higher Education, Greece, 2020–
Awards: Anneliese Maier Research Award 2015; Hellenic Republic, Order of the Phoenix, Commander 2014; Greek State Prize for Literature 2010; Baden-Württemberg Prize for Pure Research 2001; Institute of Mediterranean Studies/Institute of Technology and Research, Crete, Nikos Svoronos History Award 1991
Editorships: Mnemosyne, Editor 2007­–; Kernos, Editor 2006–
Honorary Degrees: Ionian University, Honorary Doctorate 2019; Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Honorary Doctorate 2018; Université de Liège, Honorary Doctorate 2016; International Hellenic University, Honorary Doctorate 2012
Memberships: Academia Europaea; Academy of Athens; Archaeological Institute of America; Finnish Academy of Sciences and Letters; German Archaeological Institute; Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities


All Souls College, University of Oxford
Visiting Professor 2010–13, Senior Research Fellow 2006–10
Universität Heidelberg
Vice Rector for International Relations 2001–06, Professor and Chair of the Department of Ancient History 1998–2006
New York University
Professor 1997–98, Associate Professor 1994–97, Visiting Professor 1993
Universität Heidelberg
Associate Professor 1992–94, Assistant Professor 1987–92