Former Members Win 2015 Shaw Prize in Mathematics

The 2015 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to former School of Mathematics Members Gerd Faltings (1988, 1992–93), Managing Director at Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, and Henryk Iwaniec (1983–86), Professor at Rutgers University. The pair was awarded for their introduction and development of fundamental tools in number theory, allowing them, as well as others, to resolve some longstanding classical problems.