Incoming Scholars Receive 2024 NASA Astrophysics Fellowships

Two incoming Members in the School of Natural Sciences have received 2024 Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowships from NASA: Alexander Dittmann (2024–28) and Yue Hu (2024–27). 

Dittmann has been selected as an Einstein Fellow, characterized as those who ask the question “How does the universe work?” His proposed research topic is Bridging the Gap in Supermassive Black Hole Binary Accretion – From Simulation to Observation.

Hu, whose research focuses on the ubiquitous turbulence and magnetic fields in astrophysics, was selected as a Hubble Fellow, asking the question “How did we get here?” His proposed research topic is The Role of Magnetic Field in Galaxy Cluster’s Diffuse Structure Formation.

The NHFP enables postdoctoral scientists to pursue theory, observations, simulations, experimentation, or instrument development related to astrophysics. The fellowship provides up to three years of support at a chosen university or research center and is one of the most prestigious honors for postdoctoral researchers in astrophysics. 

"The NASA Hubble Fellowship Program is a highly competitive program, and this year's cadre of Fellows are to be congratulated on their selection," said Mark Clampin, director of the Astrophysics Division at NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C. "They will undoubtedly be future leaders in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics."