Natural Sciences Scholars and Alumni Win 2021 AAS Prizes

The American Astronomical Society (AAS) has announced the recipients of its 2021 prizes for outstanding achievements in research and education, among them several current and former scholars in the IAS School of Natural Sciences.

Richard Black Professor Matias Zaldarriaga, Member (2014–18) Marko Simonović, and Mikhail M. Ivanov are awarded the Second Buchalter Cosmology Prize for “Cosmological Parameters from the BOSS Galaxy Power Spectrum.”

Member (2009–12) Daniel Green and Member (2010–13) Rafael Alejandro Porto are awarded the First Buchalter Cosmology Prize for “Signals of a Quantum Universe.”

Both Buchalter prizes reward new ideas or discoveries that have the potential to produce breakthrough advances in our understanding of the origin, structure, and evolution of the universe beyond current standard cosmological models.

Frequent Member (2020–, 2009–10, 2006, 2001–02, 1992–94) David Weinberg and Member (2006–07) Robert Lupton are awarded the Dannie Heineman Prize for outstanding mid-career work in astrophysics. Weinberg and Lupton are recognized for their essential contributions to facilitating, guiding, and participating in transformative science resulting from modern large-scale astronomical surveys at optical wavelengths, in particular the Sloan Digital Sky Survey.

Read more at AAS.