Seven IAS Scholars Win 2023 Guggenheim Fellowships

Seven scholars across all four Schools—Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Historical Studies, and Social Science—have won 2023 Guggenheim Fellowships, one of the most remarkable honors for mid-career researchers, artists, and writers. 

Winners from the School of Historical Studies include current Member Elizabeth Bearden, who is working at IAS on her third monograph, "Crip Authority: Disability and the Art of Consolation in the Renaissance.” Her last book, Monstrous Kinds: Body, Space and Narrative in Renaissance Representations of Disability, won a Tobin Siebers Prize. Also from the School, past Member (2016–17) Roland Betancourt, an expert on the Byzantine Empire, received a Fellowship. At IAS, Betancourt explored classical and late-antique foundations of Byzantine thought on time. 

From the School of Social Science, past Members Lucas Bessire (2012–13) and David Scott (2006–07) won Fellowships. In 2021, Bessire published Running Out: In Search of Water on the High Plains, making him a finalist for the National Book Award. Scott is currently finishing his fourth book, tentatively titled “Irreparable Evil: New World Slavery in Moral History,” while also working on a biography of Stuart Hall.

Winners in the School of Mathematics are past Members Venkatesan Guruswami (2007–08) and Lillian B. Pierce (2009–10), who was recently a 2017–18 von Neumann Fellow. Guruswami explores a broad array of topics in theoretical computer science, while Pierce studies the intersection between harmonic analysis and analytic number theory.

Past Member in the School of Natural Sciences Hirosi Ooguri (1988–89), who was also a Visiting Professor in 2015, won a Fellowship in the subject of physics. Ooguri works on quantum field theory, quantum gravity, and string theory. In 2019, he was awarded a Medal of Honor from the Emperor of Japan

Together, they join a diverse class of 171 Fellows whose achievements span numerous fields in the humanities, sciences, and visual and literary arts. The Fellowship is granted by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, founded in 1925, which offers funding to exceptional individuals in any field of knowledge or artform.