Akshay Venkatesh Elected Member of National Academy of Sciences

Akshay Venkatesh, Robert & Luisa Fernholz Professor in the School of Mathematics, has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors in recognition of advancements in original research. 

Venkatesh is a mathematician who has worked on many topics at the interface between number theory and other fields, including representation theory, dynamics, and algebraic topology. His recent work examines new algebraic structures related to the topology of locally symmetric spaces.

Joining a class of 120 members and 23 international members, Venkatesh's election brings the total number of active members to 2,565 and the total number of international members to 526, of which approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes.

This year, Venkatesh shares the honor with past Members in the School of Mathematics, Xin Zhou (2018–19), Subhash Khot (2003–04), Masaki Kashiwara (1977–78), and Cameron Gordon (1976–77). 

From the School of Natural Sciences, past Members David Weinberg (1992–94, 2001–02, 2006, 2009–10, 2020–21), Thomas Banks (1976–77, 1978, 1983–84, 2010), Leonid Kurglyak (1991–92), and Glennys Farrar (1971–73; 1983–85; and Visitor, 1979–80) were also among the honorees. 

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.