James Stone Elected Member of National Academy of Sciences

James Stone, Professor in the School of Natural Sciences, has been elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors in recognition of advancements in original research. 

Among his achievements, Stone has developed novel numerical algorithms that have shaped the field of computational astrophysics and ushered in a new era of precision simulations with a wide range of applications. Additionally, he has developed some of the most powerful and widely used astrophysical codes and has contributed groundbreaking methods to address some of the field's most challenging problems.

Joining a class of 120 members and 30 international members, Stone’s election brings the total number of active members to 2,512 and the total number of international members to 517, of which approximately 190 have received Nobel prizes. This year, he shares this honor with past Members in the School of Natural Sciences G. Peter Lepage (1982) and James Binney (1983–87, 1989). 

From the School of Mathematics, the 2022 class also includes past Members Karen Vogtmann (1980–81), Michael Shelley (1991–92), Michael Harris (1983–84, 2011), and current Visiting Professor Toniann Pitassi. Paul DiMaggio, past Member (2017–18) in the School of Social Science, was also among the honorees. 

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.