The Institute for Advanced Study

Mission Statement

The Institute is pledged to assemble a group of scientists and scholars who with their pupils and assistants may devote themselves to the task of pushing beyond the present limits of human knowledge and to training those who may “carry on” in this sense.

—Mission Statement of the Institute for Advanced Study by founding Director Abraham Flexner, Organization Meeting, October 10, 1930


The Institute for Advanced Study has served the world as one of the leading independent centers for theoretical research and intellectual inquiry since its establishment in 1930, advancing the frontiers of knowledge across the sciences and humanities. From the work of founding IAS faculty such as Albert Einstein and John von Neumann to that of the foremost thinkers of the present, the IAS is dedicated to enabling curiosity-driven exploration and fundamental discovery.

Each year, the Institute welcomes more than 200 of the world’s most promising post-doctoral researchers and scholars who are selected and mentored by a permanent Faculty, each of whom are preeminent leaders in their fields. Among present and past Faculty and Members there have been 35 Nobel Laureates, 44 of the 62 Fields Medalists, and 23 of the 26 Abel Prize Laureates, as well as many MacArthur Fellows and Wolf Prize winners.


For images of the IAS Director and current Faculty and Emeriti, click here. To access recent images of the Institute grounds, click here. Please contact Lee Sandberg at (609) 951-4406 or lsandberg@ias.edu if you wish to inquire about permission to use the images.


Historical images are available through the Shelby White and Leon Levy Archive Center Digital Collections. To inquire about permission to publish archival images of Albert Einstein and other historical photographs related to the Institute, please contact archives@ias.edu.