Ann-Kristin Achleitner Appointed to Board of Trustees

Press Contact

Lee Sandberg

The Institute for Advanced Study appointed economist Ann-Kristin Achleitner to its Board of Trustees on October 26, 2019, effective immediately. Achleitner is a Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance in the School of Management at the Technical University of Munich.

A leading expert in financing innovation, venture capital, private equity, and family businesses, with additional work in the financing of social enterprise, Achleitner brings to the IAS Board a strong commitment to academia and the advancement of enterprising ideas.

Achleitner serves on various corporate boards and is widely recognized as an international thought leader. She has served as a policy advisor in numerous capacities to the European Union and to the German and Bavarian governments, and is a former member of the government commission responsible for overseeing and shaping the German Corporate Governance Code. Her diverse experience and perspective will ensure that the Institute’s mission continues to resonate at a global scale.

She currently serves on the Munich Re Supervisory Board, the Linde board of directors, and the Investcorp International advisory board. She is a former member of the boards of Deutsche Börse, Engie, Vontobel, Metro, and Depfa Bank. She is also a member of the European Group of the Trilateral Commission, a member of the executive board of the German Academy of Science and Engineering (Acatech), and a member of the European Policy Group of the World Economic Forum. She previously served on the senate of the Fraunhofer Society and as a trustee of the Rationalization and Innovation Center of German Business (RKW).

Dr. Achleitner holds doctorates in Law (1992) and Business Administration (1991) from the University of St. Gallen. She also holds an honorary doctorate from Leuphana University Lüneburg.

About the Institute
The Institute for Advanced Study is one of the world's foremost centers for theoretical research and intellectual inquiry. Located in Princeton, N.J., the IAS is dedicated to independent study across the sciences and humanities. Founded in 1930 with the motto "Truth and Beauty," the Institute is devoted to advancing the frontiers of knowledge without concern for immediate application. From founding IAS Professor Albert Einstein to the foremost thinkers of today, the IAS enables bold, nonconformist, field-leading research that provides long-term utility and new technologies, leading to innovation and enrichment of society in unexpected ways.

Each year, the Institute welcomes more than 200 of the world’s most promising researchers and scholars who are selected and mentored by a permanent Faculty, each of whom are preeminent leaders in their fields. Of the Institute’s current Faculty of twenty-six, two are Fields Medalists and five are MacArthur “Genius” Fellows. Comprised of four Schools—Historical Studies, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Science—IAS has produced an astounding record of introducing new understanding and is responsible for undeniable progress across disciplines and generations, from the development of one of the first stored-program computers to the establishment of art history as a discipline in the United States. Among its present and past Faculty and Members are 34 Nobel Laureates, 42 of the 60 Fields Medalists, and 18 of the 20 Abel Prize Laureates, as well as many MacArthur Fellows and Wolf Prize winners.