Natural Sciences Scholars Named AAS Fellows

Puragra Guhathakurta, Member (1989–92) in the School of Natural Sciences, and Ellen Zweibel, Member (1977–78) in the School, have been named 2021 fellows of the American Astronomical Society (AAS).

Guhathakurta is recognized for "seminal contributions to studies of galaxy formation and evolution and stellar populations as well as a lifetime of dedicated service to the training of young scientists."

Zweibel is recognized for "extraordinary and sustained contributions to theoretical plasma astrophysics and community leadership."

Additionally, the following scholars have been retroactively named AAS Legacy fellows: Charles Alcock, Member (1977–81); Rachel Somerville, Visitor (2020–current); and Rashid Sunyaev, Distinguished Visiting Professor (2010–current).

All Legacy fellows are recognized for "enhancing and sharing humanity’s scientific understanding of the universe through personal achievement and extraordinary service to the astronomical sciences and to the AAS."

Read more at AAS.