2022 Breakthrough Prizes Awarded to IAS Scholars

Winners of the 10th annual Breakthrough Prizes were announced today, including current Veblen Research Instructor Sarah Peluse (2022 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize) and past Members Takuro Mochizuki (2022 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics) and Hong Wang (2022 MMNFP).

Mochizuki, who received one of five $3 million prizes, is cited for monumental work leading to a breakthrough in our understanding of the theory of bundles with flat connections over algebraic varieties, including the case of irregular singularities.

Beyond the main prizes, three Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prizes were awarded to early-career women mathematicians. Peluse is recognized for contributions to arithmetic combinatorics and analytic number theory, particularly with regards to polynomial patterns in dense sets. Wang is recognized for advances on the restriction conjecture, the local smoothing conjecture, and related problems.

The Breakthrough Prize celebrates groundbreaking discoveries in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics. Traditionally celebrated during a live, televised awards ceremony that honors the laureates, this year’s program is postponed until 2022 due to the pandemic.


Press Contact

Lee Sandberg