IAS SNe Ia workshop Feb 10-12, 2014

Organizers: Doron Kushnir and Boaz Katz.

Talks will take place at the White-Levy room in the Historical Studies
building (an IAS campus map can be found here).


Feb 10th

8:15 Shuttles from Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn to IAS

8:30-9:00 Reception

Morning session moderator - Doron Kushnir

9:00 - 9:10 Opening words (Bob Kirshner)
9:10 - 9:40 What do we really know about SNe Ia's? (Craig Wheeler)
9:40 - 10:00 White dwarf collisions in triple systems (Boaz Katz)

6 sessions. For each session there would be a well defined subject and
questions to discuss. Each question below that starts with what is...
refers to what is observed vs. what do we expect based on models. Each
session includes ~5 talks. Each talk is 20 min long, followed by 20 min


1. Bolometric light curve
I. What are the uncertainties in the observations and modeling of
bolometric light curves (observational - UV,IR, modeling - opacities)?
II. What is the Ni56 distribution and is it correlated with other
III. What are the gamma-ray deposition functions and can they
constrain the ejecta masses?

10:00 - 10:40 Mark Phillips

10:40 - 11:10 Coffee break

11:10 - 11:50 Boaz Katz
11:50 - 12:30 Andy Howell

12:30 - 1:30 Lunch

Afternoon session moderator - Avishay Gal-Yam

2. Nebular phase
I. What is the velocity distribution of the elements responsible for
the emission lines (and what is the correlation to delta m_15)?
II. What are the shape and ratio of the emission lines?
III. What are the velocity shifts of the emission lines?

1:30-2:10 Subo Dong

2:10-2:20 break

2:20-3:00 Peter Garnavich
3:00-3:40 Keiichi Maeda

3:40-4:10 Afternoon tea

4:10-4:50 Paolo Mazzali
4:50-5:30 Jeffrey Silverman

5:30-5:40 break

General Session

5:40-5:50 Adam Burrows
5:50-6:00 Ken Shen
6:00-6:10 Maximilian Stritzinger

6:45- Shuttles to Hotels

8:45- Shuttles from Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn to Mediterra Restaurant

9:00-11:00 Cocktail party (Mediterra)

11:00 Shuttles from Mediterra Restaurant to Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Feb 11th

7:45am Shuttles from Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn to IAS

​Morning session moderator - Eran Ofek

3. Spectra
I. What are the robust features of the optical spectra?
II. Can we calculate the observed Si velocity as a function of phase?
III. Are there robust constrains on the companion (e.g. CSM)?

8:30-9:10 Luc Dessart
9:10-9:50 Markus Kromer
9:50-10:30 Kate Maguire

10:30-11:00 Coffee break

11:00-12:30 Astrophysics seminar (Mark Phillips, Bloomberg hall)

12:30-1:30 Lunch

Afternoon session moderator - Boaz Katz

1:30-2:10 Stuart Sim

2:10-2:20 break

4. The combustion physics of each model
I. Is an ignition of a detonation theoretically expected?
II. What are the unknowns (free parameters) in the combustion modeling?
III. What are the observational implications of the different combustion mechanisms for the different models?

2:20-3:00 Wolfgang Hillebrandt
3:00-3:40 Doron Kushnir

3:40-4:10 Afternoon tea

4:10-4:50 Alexei Poludnenko
4:50-5:30 Francis Timmes

5:30-5:40 break

Special Session - 2014J

5:40-6:40 Avishay Gal-Yam

7:00 Workshop Dinner

9:00pm Shuttles from IAS to Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn

Feb 12th

7:45am Shuttles from Hyatt Place and Clarion Hotel Palmer Inn to IAS

Morning session moderator - Francis Timmes

5. Diversity and bimodality
I. Is the sequence spanning 91bg to 91T all belong to the same population?
II. What are the distinctive features of the peculiar events (IaX, super-luminous)?

8:30-9:10 Ryan Foley
9:10-9:50 Saurabh Jha
9:50-10:30 Peter Nugent

10:30-11:00 Coffee break

6. Progenitor's hunt
I. What are the properties of WDs and their companions in binary and triple systems?
II. What are the constrains that can be put on the progenitors from pre- and post- explosions observations?

11:00-11:40 Carles Badenes
11:40-12:20 Eran Ofek
12:20-13:00 Ken'ichi Nomoto

13:00-13:30 Lunch

Shuttles back to Hotels and Departures

Confirmed participants

Carles Badenes
​Federica Bianco
David Branch
Adam Burrows
Luc Dessart
Subo Dong
Ryan Foley
Avishay Gal-Yam
Peter Garnavic
Wolfgang Hillebrandt
Andy Howell
Saurabh Jha
Alexei Khokhlov
Robert Kirshner
Doron Kushnir
Eli Livne
Keiichi Maeda
Kate Maguire
Paolo Mazzali
Boaz Katz
Mark M. Phillips
Alexei Poludnenko
Jose Prieto
Ken'ichi Nomoto
Peter Nugent
Eran Ofek
Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
Cody Raskin
Jeffrey Silverman
Stuart Sim
Ken Shen
Maximilian Stritzinger
Francis Timmes
​Emma Walker
J. Craig Wheeler

Visitor Information

Information regarding transportation to and from the IAS can be found
here). Some local information (e.g. restaurants and shopping) can be found here.