Applying for Membership

The School of Natural Sciences will have several openings for members in theoretical physics, astrophysics, and biology for the academic year 2021-2022. The positions are at a postdoctoral or higher level in the areas of astrophysics, theoretical biology, cosmology, mathematical physics, quantum field theory, particle phenomenology, string theory and quantum gravity. Postdoctoral members are selected on their ability to conduct independent research but they frequently collaborate with each other, with faculty members at the Institute or Princeton University, and with researchers at other institutions.

Postdoctoral appointments are for three years with full stipend support. We also have openings for long-term (5 year) members and Bahcall Fellows. Stipend is above post-doctoral level and is commensurate with qualifications. In addition to exceptional qualifications for pursuing his or her individual research, the successful candidate for a long-term membership should be interested in talking to, and possibly collaborating with, other post-doctoral members. Women and minorities are encouraged to apply.

We also offer Junior Visiting Professorships. Applicants should hold a faculty or equivalent position and normally should be within ten years of receiving their Ph.D. Support will be provided to spend a period between one term and one year at the Institute. Junior Visiting Faculty are expected to conduct their own research and to help make the research environment at the IAS stimulating to the other members of the school.

Physics and Astrophysics applicants must apply through AcademicJobsOnline. Three letters of recommendation are required for postdoctoral applicants and should be submitted directly through the AJO website. Sabbatical and junior visiting professors do not require reference letters. Applications must be received by November 15. For more information write to or Michelle Sage, School Administrative Officer, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey 08540.

If you are interested in applying to Biology, please send an email to for further information and membership materials.

IAS has hosted many Bahcall, NASA Hubble, Spitzer, Sagan, and Einstein, and NRAO Jansky Fellows, including: Frederic Rasio, Buell Jannuzi, Roeland van der Marel, Max Tegmark, David W. Hogg, Eliot Quataert, Scott Gaudi, Eugene Chiang, Neal Dalal, Feryal Ozel, Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, Doron Chelouche, Zheng Zheng, Kris Sigurdson, Nadia Zakamska, Shane Davis, Rachel Mandelbaum, Glenn van de Ven, Subo Dong, Rodrigo Fernandez, Joshua Younger, Boaz Katz, Jo Bovy, Brian Lacki, Kohta Murase, Timothy Brandt, James Owen, Liang Dai, Susan Clark, Yuan-Sen Ting, Jean-Baptiste Fouvry, Shany Danieli, and Siyao Xu.