New Horizons in Physics Prize Awarded to Current and Former Members

Friday, December 14, 2012

The 2013 New Horizons in Physics Prize of the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation has been awarded to Zohar Komargodski, a long-term Member in the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study, and Davide Gaiotto, a former long-term Member (2007–12) in the School. The New Horizons in Physics Prize, which is in its inaugural year, recognizes achievement in the field of fundamental physics by promising junior researchers. Komargodski was cited for his work on the dynamics of four-dimensional field theories, which has solved a long-standing problem and led to important insights. Gaiotto, who is currently a member of the faculty of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, was recognized for "far-reaching" work on duality, gauge theory, and geometry, and for linking theories in different dimensions in unexpected ways. The New Horizons in Physics Prize was also awarded to Niklas Beisert of Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich.

View all News Briefs