Sabine Schmidtke , Professor in the School of Historical Studies, and Hassan Ansari , Member (2013–16) in the School, have been named the Executive Editors of a new, refereed journal, Shii Studies Review .
Devin J. Stewart, Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies at Emory College of Arts and Sciences, will give a public lecture, “The Transmission of Knowledge in Abbasid Iraq: Problems in the Interpretation of the Catalogue of Ibn al-Nadim,” which will take place Wednesday, January 27, at 4:00 p.m. in the White Levy Room in the Historical Studies-Social Science Library. This lecture is made possible by the Dr. S.T. Lee Fund for Historical Studies.
Crafoord Prize
Yakov Eliashberg, Member (2001-02) in the School of Mathematics, received the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena. Roger Blandford, Member (1974–75, 1998) in the School of Natural Sciences, and Roy Kerr, were awarded the Crafoord Prize in Astronomy for their fundamental work on rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences.
Carmela Vircillo Franklin , Institute Trustee and Director’s Visitor (2016), has been elected President of the Medieval Academy of America . Founded in 1925, the Medieval Academy of America is the largest organization in the United States promoting excellence in the field of medieval studies.